4 Steps to Becoming an Insurance Claims Adjuster in Louisiana
- May 17, 2021
- Posted by: April Hilbert
- Category: Adjuster Licensing Claims Adjuster Claims Training Continuing Education eLearning Uncategorized
If you live in the state of Louisiana and are looking to become a licensed insurance claims adjuster, we’ve broken the process down for you. Begin a career as an adjuster in Louisiana in 4 easy steps.
Step 1: Meet the requirements.
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Residein or maintain a principal place of business in Louisiana
Step 2: Prepare for and pass the LA state exam administered by PSI Testing Centers.
Which exam you prepare for will depend on the type of claims that you want to adjust in Louisiana.
Louisiana does NOT require pre-licensing education. However, a comprehensive course of study such as one of AE21 Online’s Louisiana License Prep Courses highly recommended to ensure passing the state exam. This program is a flexible study aid that can be used at your discretion and in the way that best suits you to prepare for the Louisiana adjuster licensing exam. Many choose to go through the entire program, complete every lesson in order, and then take the practice exam a few times. This is the recommended method for all new adjusters. However, it is also possible to use the course to study only specific areas. For example, a seasoned adjuster who just moved to Louisiana and now needs a Louisiana license may only need to study up on Louisiana’s unique laws and regulations. Therefore, it is not even necessary to fully “complete” the program.
AE21 offers study programs for Louisiana’s “Property and Casualty Adjuster” license and the “Automobile Adjuster” license. Most prospective adjusters choose to get their “Property and Casualty Adjuster” license because this license will allow them to adjust any type of property and casualty claim. The “Automobile Adjuster” license and other limited-lines licenses will only allow you to adjust that specific type of claim.
The “Property and Casualty Adjuster” exam is comprised of 150 questions with a 2-hour and 40-minute time limit, and you must score a 70% to pass. If you do not pass, you will be required to retake the exam and pay the exam fees again.
AE21’s prep course will help remove the anxiety of taking the exam. The practice exams contained within the course can be taken over and over with a new random shuffle of questions until you are consistently achieving a high score. You will know when you are ready to take on the official exam and can be confident in your ability to pass.
Step 3: Arrange for fingerprinting. Louisiana requires applicants to submit a fingerprint background check with their license application. It’s probably a good idea to get fingerprinted right away after passing your exam to avoid any delays. Fingerprint processing takes about 10 days. Click HERE for more details.
Step 4: Complete the Louisiana Insurance Adjuster License application and submit with applicable fees.
A couple of things to know about being a licensed claims adjuster in Louisiana:
Louisiana resident adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years. Of those 24 hours, 3 must be certified as “Ethics”. AE21 Online is proud to offer Louisiana Continuing Education. To learn more about our Louisiana CE courses, click HERE.
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it is vital to your success, visit our blog post on the topic.
Louisiana grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state or adjusters who hold a Designated Home State (DHS) license, as long as the home or DHS state requires an examination.
We’re here to help you get started on your way to becoming a successful claims adjuster in Louisiana. For more information click here or check out The Louisiana Department of Insurance website.