3 Steps to Becoming an Insurance Claims Adjuster in Connecticut
- May 26, 2021
- Posted by: April Hilbert
- Category: Adjuster Licensing Claims Training Continuing Education eLearning Uncategorized
If you live in the state of Connecticut and are looking to become a licensed insurance claims adjuster, we’ve broken the process down for you.
You can begin a career as an adjuster in Connecticut in 3 easy steps.
Step 1: Meet the requirements.
- Be 18 years of age or older.
- Reside in or maintain a principal place of business in Connecticut.
- Be financially responsible and of good moral character.
Step 2: Prepare for and pass the CT state exam administered by Prometric.
Which exam you prepare for will depend on the type of claims that you want to adjust in Connecticut. For Property and Casualty Claims Adjusting, Connecticut has four licensing options: All-Lines Adjuster License (18-09), All Lines Except Workers’ Compensation License (18-10), Workers’ Compensation ONLY and Auto ONLY License (18-12).
Connecticut does NOT require pre-licensing education. However, a comprehensive course of study such as one of AE21 Online’s Connecticut License Prep Courses is highly recommended to ensure passing the state exam. This program is a flexible study aid that can be used at your discretion and in the way that best suits you to prepare for the Connecticut adjuster licensing exam. Many choose to go through the entire program, complete every lesson in order, and then take the practice exam a few times. This is the recommended method for all new adjusters. However, it is also possible to use the course to study only specific areas. For example, a seasoned adjuster who just moved to Connecticut and now needs a Connecticut license may only need to study up on Connecticut’s unique laws and regulations. Therefore, it is not even necessary to fully “complete” the program.
AE21 offers study programs for three of Connecticut’s licenses (All Lines, All Lines except Workers’ Comp and Auto Only). We highly recommend the 18-09 All Lines Adjuster License as it is the most comprehensive. Most prospective adjusters choose to get their “All Lines Adjuster” license because this license will allow them to adjust any type of property and casualty claim. The “Automobile Only Adjuster” license will only allow you to adjust that specific type of claim.
AE21’s prep course will help remove the anxiety of taking the exam. The practice exams contained within the course can be taken over and over with a new random shuffle of questions until you are consistently achieving a high score. You will know when you are ready to take on the official exam and can be confident in your ability to pass. Once you are ready to take the exam you can find step-by-step instructions and schedule your exam appointment HERE.
Step 3: Apply for your license.
Once you have passed your exam, you can apply for the license by visiting www.ct.gov/cid. Select “Online Licensing Application System” located under Licensee Information. The application fee is $130.00.
A couple of things to know about being a licensed claims adjuster in Connecticut:
Connecticut does NOT require Continuing Education in order to renew your license.
For the most up-to-date renewal information, click HERE.
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it is vital to your success, visit our blog post on the topic.
Connecticut grants reciprocal licensing to adjusters holding a license in most states that require the licensure of adjusters.
Connecticut will also accept a DHS license for adjusters whose home state does not license.
We’re here to help you get started on your way to becoming a successful claims adjuster in Connecticut. For more information click here or check out The Connecticut Department of Insurance website.