Updates to Florida Law and Ethics CE Course Requirements
If you are an insurance adjuster making plans to fulfill your Continue Education requirements, here is some news you’ll want to know. During the 2021 Legislative Session, legislatures amended the Florida Statutes section 626.2815. The change, which became effective January 1, 2022, reduced the 5-Hour Law and Ethics Update course requirement down to 4 hours.
However, this does not mean one less hour of continuing education requirements. The total hours due for compliance cycles ending after January 1, 2022, are the same as compliance cycles ending prior to January 1, 2022. The elective credit requirement for cycles ending after January 1, 2022, is increased by one hour to offset the decrease in the Law and Ethics course.
Individuals licensed for less than six years will have to complete a 4-Hour Law and Ethics Update course, and 20 hours of elective credits for a total of 24 hours of CE. Those individuals licensed for more than six years are required to complete a 4-Hour Law and Ethics Update and 16 hours of elective credits, for a total of 20 hours of CE. Individuals licensed for 25 years or more who hold a CPCU, CLU, or RMI degree are required to complete a 4-Hour Law and Ethics Update, and six hours of elective credits, for a total of 10 hours of CE. (Click here to get a copy of the reduction request form).
If your compliance cycle falls under special circumstances, such as they have granted you an extension, or your compliance cycle is delinquent and your compliance cycle will still require the 5-hour course, you will still have the opportunity to complete the 5 hour course. The department acknowledges the need for 5-hour update courses to satisfy previous cycles and will continue to accept, review, and approve 5-hour update courses.
AE21 has a 5-Hour Law and Ethics Update for All-Lines Adjusters. This course will continue to be offered through September 18, 2022. If you require the 5 hour course, this satisfies the requirement. If your CE compliance cycle requires the 4 hours course, the extra hour will go towards your elective requirement.
For more specifics on the nuances of this change and how it affects your specific compliance cycle, check out the Q & A on the Florida CFO’s Insurance Insights.