3 Steps To Maintain and Renew Your Mississippi Adjuster License
Once you have your insurance adjuster license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active.
Mississippi resident adjusters must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years licensing term. Three of these hours must be in Ethics.
To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. It’s important to be aware and to think ahead so you don’t find yourself stuck with fines or penalties. Below are a few things you’ll want to do to remain CE compliant and to keep your license active. Here are 3 steps to maintaining an active adjuster license in Mississippi.
1. Review the State Requirements
In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. All the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license. You can access your CE status and transcript HERE.
Resident adjusters will be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two-year license term. Adjusters must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement.
Compliance Renewal Date
Initial licenses expire on the last day of the licensee’s birth month in the following year, but no less than 13 months from the date of issue. After that, the license will expire every two years on the last day of the adjuster’s birth month. Review Mississippi’s CE Chart detailing how many CE hours are required for your license.
- For initial licenses in effect for 13-18 months: 12 hours of continuing education is required each year prior to the expiration date.
- For initial licenses in effect for 19-24 months: 24 hours of continuing education, including three hours of ethics.
Upon renewal, a 2-year license will be issued.
*Carryover hours are not allowed. Excess CE credits cannot be applied to the next compliance cycle.
*You cannot receive credit for any course more than once in any CE reporting period. Courses may not be taken more than once in a reporting period.
2. Register for and Complete Courses
Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.
By entering Mississippi as your licensing state during registration, the system will present you with a customized dashboard that will contain the Mississippi course catalogs as well as important links for Mississippi adjusters. Once logged in, you will be able to add courses from the catalog to your shopping cart and proceed with online checkout and enrollment.
Make sure that the adjuster license number listed in your eLearning system profile is correct and that the name on your profile reflects your name as stated on your adjuster’s license.
You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported.
- Classroom and webinar course completions are based on attendance and participation and do not require a completion exam. You must be present for the full duration of the course and be active and attentive throughout to receive credit.
- Online and Self-Study courses are self-paced. You must review the course material and pass the Certification Exam at the end to receive credit.*
Pursuant to state rules, all online CE courses do contain a final exam. But don’t worry! Our “reinforced learning” format will ensure that you are completely prepared and you will have unlimited attempts to achieve a passing score.
Important! Mississippi requires that course exams be proctored by a disinterested third party. You and the proctor will be required to complete an electronic affidavit immediately following completion of the exam to attest that you completed the exam without assistance or outside help of any kind, including study material.
Your exam proctor must:
- NOT be a relative
- NOT be your immediate supervisor
- NOT be your employee
- NOT be concerned with respect to possible gain or loss, in the result of your final exam.
Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. AE21 will report the course completions to the Mississippi Department of Insurance. We will take care of all the reporting for you. CE credits are reported within 1-3 business days following the completion of a course and submission of your monitor affidavit.
3. File a Renewal Application
Individual renewal invoices are emailed 90 days in advance of expiration. If you do not receive the invoice, you may email a request for a duplicate invoice to: firstname.lastname@example.org or fax 601-359-1951.
Or, once you have satisfied the renewal requirements for your license, you can file a renewal application during your renewal period at www.sircon.com/Mississippi “Renew your license” or www.nipr.com.
For those with inactive licenses: You may reinstate within 12 months of license expiration, apply on-line at www.sircon.com/Mississippi or www.nipr.com. or download and submit a first-time Adjuster application with required fees by mail.
Licenses expired over 12 months: Residents must re-apply as a first-time adjuster entity on-line or by paper. Nonresidents will re-apply as a first time adjuster and we will verify home state licensure with a reciprocal exam on the SPLD.
Note: A reinstatement will result in a lapse in licensure. A late fee of 50% of the renewal fee will be assessed to all renewal invoices received after May 31 for entities and within 12 months of the license expiration date for individuals.
MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE CONTACT INFORMATION
Mississippi Insurance Department
PO Box 79
Jackson, MS 39205-0079