How do I Maintain My North Carolina Adjuster License?
Once you have your insurance adjuster license, you might ask yourself what you need to do to maintain it.
You will need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Resident North Carolina adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years, including 3 hours in Ethics. In the first compliance period and every other compliance period after that (every four years), adjusters must also complete 3 hours in Flood Insurance.
To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. It’s important to be aware and to think ahead so you don’t find yourself stuck with fines or penalties. Below are a few things you’ll want to do to remain CE compliant and to keep your license active. Here is how to maintain an active adjuster license in North Carolina.
1. Review the State Requirements
In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours. All the hours must be completed and reported prior to your compliance date to avoid a lapse in your license. You can access your CE status and transcript HERE.
Resident North Carolina adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years, including 3 hours in Ethics. In the first compliance period and every other compliance period after that (every four years), adjusters must also complete 3 hours in Flood Insurance.
Licensees will receive CE credits only once for a course completed in the current compliance period, regardless of the number of times the same course is taken. Any credits above the required number of CE hours will carry forward to the next biennial compliance period. Excess ethics or flood credits will carry over to the next compliance period as general credits.
Compliance Renewal Date
Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 58-33-130(d), The Commissioner may by rule establish a staggered system in which the credit hour compliance period is based on the month and year of birth of each individual licensee.
The licensee’s birth year determines if an individual must meet CE in an even or odd year. Example:
1) 1960 is considered an EVEN year.
2) 1961 is considered an ODD year.
The licensee’s birth month determines the month continuing education is due.
Example: An individual born in October would need 24 hours of CE completed by the last day of October in the compliance year.
Review the NCDOI CE Information Chart to determine your compliance date.
Non-compliance with CE Information (Resident)
Licensees who fail to meet the minimum continuing education (CE) hours or fail to take the mandatory ethics and flood hours by their CE compliance date will have their license(s) expire.
Licensees have 4 months from the CE compliance date to meet the required hours. A $75.00 reinstatement must be submitted to Prometric to have the license reinstated.
If the required CE hours are not met by the end of the 4-month period, the license will become inactive. Licensees must complete pre-licensing and pass the state exam for each line of authority to be issued a new license.
2. Register for and Complete Courses
Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.
By entering North Carolina as your licensing state during registration, the system will present you with a customized dashboard that will contain the North Carolina course catalogs, as well as important links for North Carolina adjusters. Once logged in, you will be able to add courses from the catalog to your shopping cart and proceed with online checkout and enrollment.
Make sure that the adjuster license number listed in your eLearning system profile is correct and that the name on your profile reflects your name as stated on your adjuster’s license.
You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported.
- Classroom and webinar course completions are based on attendance and participation and do not require a completion exam. You must be present for the full duration of the course and be active and attentive throughout to receive credit.
- Online and Self-Study courses are self-paced. You must review the course material and pass the Certification Exam at the end to receive credit.*
Under state rules, all online CE courses contain a final exam. But don’t worry! Our “reinforced learning” format will ensure that you are completely prepared and you will have unlimited attempts to achieve a passing score.
Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. AE21 will report the course completions to the North Carolina Department of Insurance. We will take care of all the reporting for you. We report CE credits within 1-3 business days following the completion of a course.
You can find out more about our North Carolina Continuing Education Courses HERE.
You can contact the North Carolina department of insurance here:
325 Salisbury St.
Raleigh, NC 27603