How do I Maintain My Delaware Insurance Adjuster License?
Once you have completed all the hard work to obtain your insurance adjuster license, you might wonder how to keep it active. You will need to complete some steps every couple of years to maintain your license. Delaware resident adjusters must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years. Three hours must be in Ethics or Consumer Protection.
To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. It’s important to be aware and to think ahead so you don’t find yourself stuck with fines or penalties. Here are 3 steps to maintaining an active adjuster license in Delaware:
1. Review the State Requirements
In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. All the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license. You can access your CE status and transcript HERE.
Resident adjusters will be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two-year license term. Adjusters must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement.
A licensee continuously licensed for twenty-five (25) years or longer prior to the start of a two-year reporting period or who holds a recognized professional designation may receive an automatic credit of twelve (12) credits in each two-year renewal period. The following professional designations will receive credit as provided for in Section 8.3 of Regulation 504: AAI, CEBS, ChFC, CFP, CIC, CLU CPCU, FLMI, FSPA and RHU. Automatic credits cannot be applied to satisfy ethics credit requirements.
*Up to 5 credits in a two-year reporting period can be carried over into the next period. Carry over credits cannot be applied to the ethics requirement. Any excess ethics credits will be applied to the next renewal period as general credits.
*Credit will not be accepted for any approved course more than once in any reporting period.
Compliance Renewal Date
In Delaware, Insurance Adjuster licenses expire every two years. The expiration will be on the last day of February of each even-numbered year, either February 28th or February 29th during leap year. The renewal period begins on December 1st of each odd-numbered year.
2. Register for and Complete Courses
Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for CE courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.
By entering Delaware as your licensing state during registration, the system will present you with a customized dashboard that will contain the Delaware course catalogs, as well as important links for Delaware adjusters. Once logged in, you will be able to add courses from the catalog to your shopping cart and proceed with online checkout and enrollment.
Make sure that the adjuster license number listed in your eLearning system profile is correct and that the name on your profile reflects your name as stated on your adjuster’s license.
Pursuant to state rules, all online CE courses do contain a final exam. But don’t worry! Our “reinforced learning” format will ensure that you are completely prepared and you will have unlimited attempts to achieve a passing score.
You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported. Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. AE21 will report the course completions to the Delaware Department of Insurance. We will take care of all the reporting for you. We report CE credits within 1-3 business days following the completion of a course.
3. File a Renewal Application
Once all CE requirements have been met, and you are within the renewal period between December 1st and the last day of February, you may renew your Delaware insurance license online by using the National Insurance Producer Registry Or the Delaware State Information Center Licensing Search and Renewal Tool.
Online applications are required. Only in the event that you cannot complete your application online will a paper application be accepted. If you need to fill out a paper application, you can print one out from the Delaware Department of Insurance Producer Licensing web page.
There is a $100 fee to renew your Delaware adjuster’s license.
After you complete this renewal process, your license will be renewed and your new expiration date will be the last day of February in the next even-numbered year.
To contact the Delaware Department of Insurance:
Delaware Department of Insurance