How do I Maintain My Georgia Insurance Adjuster License?
- May 26, 2022
- Posted by: April Hilbert
- Category: Adjuster Licensing Arkansas Insurance Adjuster License eLearning Uncategorized
Once you have completed all the hard work to obtain your insurance adjuster license, you might wonder how to keep it active. There are steps you will need to complete every couple of years to maintain your license. Georgia resident adjusters must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years. Three hours must be in Ethics or Consumer Protection.
To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. It’s important to be aware and to think ahead so you don’t find yourself stuck with fines or penalties. Here are 3 steps to maintaining an active adjuster license in Georgia:
1. Review the State Requirements
In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. All the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license. You can access your CE status and transcript HERE.
Resident adjusters will be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two-year license term. Adjusters must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement.
*Credit for continuing education earned in one filing period in excess of the hours required may be carried forward to the next filing period. Carry-over hours may not exceed fifty percent (50%) of biennial continuing education requirements.
*Credit will not be given for the same Continuing Education Course taken multiple times within the same CE reporting period.
Compliance Renewal Date
Adjuster licenses renew on the last day of the birth month with the birth year determining the renewal year.
* Birth years that end in an even number renew in even-numbered years.
* Birth years that end in an odd number renew in odd-numbered years
Your License expiration date is not affected by the date in which you originally obtained your license. With that being the case, your first renewal period may not be a full two years.
2. Register for and Complete Courses
Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for CE courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.
AE21 makes it simple to register for and complete all your CE requirements. CE registration is done through our state-of-the-art eLearning system. You can log-in or register your account HERE.
By entering Georgia as your licensing state during registration, the system will present you with a customized dashboard that will contain the Georgia course catalogs, as well as important links for Georgia adjusters. Once logged in, you will be able to add courses from the catalog to your shopping cart and proceed with online checkout and enrollment.
Make sure that the adjuster license number listed in your eLearning system profile is correct and that the name on your profile reflects your name as stated on your adjuster’s license.
Pursuant to state rules, all online CE courses do contain a final exam. But don’t worry! Our “reinforced learning” format will ensure that you are completely prepared and you will have unlimited attempts to achieve a passing score.
Important! Georgia requires that course exams be proctored by a disinterested third party. You and the proctor will be required to complete an electronic affidavit immediately following completion of the exam to attest that you completed the exam without assistance or outside help of any kind, including study material.
Your exam proctor must:
- NOT be a relative
- NOT be your immediate supervisor
- NOT be your employee
- NOT be concerned with respect to possible gain or loss, in the result of your final exam.
It is best to finish all your continuing education courses at least a week before your expiration date. This will give plenty of time for your hours to be reported to the Georgia Department of Insurance.
You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported. Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. AE21 will report the course completions to the Georgia Department of Insurance. We will take care of all the reporting for you. We report CE credits within 1-3 business days following the completion of a course.
3. File a Renewal Application
Once all CE requirements have been met, you will renew your Georgia adjuster license online through an application on Sircon’s website.
There is a $100 fee to renew your Georgia adjuster license.
After you complete this renewal process, the Georgia Insurance Department will email you once your license renewal has been approved or if you need to submit other documents.
The best practice is to keep up with your requirements and file on time, but if you find yourself in a situation where your expiration date has passed, you may still be able to renew your license.
If you complete your CE and renewal application within 30 days after your expiration date, you will only need to pay the $100 renewal fee, plus a $15 late penalty fee, for a total of $140 in fees.
If you do not renew your license by the last day of your birth month or your 30 day grace period, the license will then expire and have a 365 day reinstatement period from the last day of your birth month with a $165 fee.
To contact the Georgia Department of Insurance:
Two Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive
West Tower, Suite 704
Atlanta, Georgia 30334