How do I Maintain My Indiana Insurance Adjuster License?
Once you have your insurance adjuster license, you might ask yourself what you need to do to keep it active. You will need to complete some additional steps every couple of years to maintain your license. Indiana resident adjusters must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years.
To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. It’s important to be aware and to think ahead so you don’t find yourself stuck with fines or penalties. Here are 3 steps to maintaining an active adjuster license in Indiana:
1. Review the State Requirements
In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. All the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license. You can access your CE status and transcript HERE.
Resident Independent Adjusters will be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two-years
Compliance Renewal Date
An Independent Adjuster license is effective for a minimum of two years after the date of issuance unless probated, suspended, revoked or refused. Renewal is on the last day of the individual’s birth month. The license may be renewed if all requirements for renewal are met on or before the renewal date.
*You may not repeat a course within the same compliance period.
2. Register for and Complete Courses
Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for Indiana approved courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.
By entering Indiana as your licensing state during registration, the system will present you with a customized dashboard that will contain the Indiana course catalogs, as well as important links for Indiana adjusters. Once logged in, you will be able to add courses from the catalog to your shopping cart and proceed with online checkout and enrollment.
Make sure that the adjuster license number listed in your eLearning system profile is correct and that the name on your profile reflects your name as stated on your adjuster’s license.
Pursuant to state rules, all online CE courses contain a final exam. But don’t worry! Our “reinforced learning” format will ensure that you are completely prepared and you will have unlimited attempts to achieve a passing score.
- Important! Indiana requires that course exams be monitored by a disinterested third party. You and the proctor will be required to complete an electronic affidavit immediately following completion of the exam to attest that you completed the exam without assistance or outside help of any kind, including study material.
- Your exam proctor must NOT be:
* A relative
* Your immediate supervisor
* An employee
* Concerned, with respect to possible gain or loss, in the result of your final exam.
You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported. Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. AE21 will report the course completions to the Indiana Department of Insurance. We will take care of all the reporting for you. We report CE credits within 1-3 business days following the completion of a course.
3. File a Renewal Application
There is a $40 fee to renew your Indiana adjuster license.
After you complete your renewal application, the Indiana Insurance Department will email you once your license renewal has been approved or if you need to submit other documents.
Best practice is to keep up with your requirements and file on time, but if you find yourself in a situation where your expiration date has passed, you may still be able to renew your license. If an Independent Adjuster license expires, the independent adjuster may, within 12 months after the date of expiration, be reissued an Independent Adjuster license by completing each of the following:
1. Twenty-four (24) hours of Indiana-approved continuing education.
2. License reinstatement application and fee of $80.
To contact the Indiana Office of the Insurance Commissioner:
311 W. Washington St. #103
Indianapolis, IN 46204
IDOI Resident Licensing Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Non-Resident Licensing Email: email@example.com