How do I Renew My Wyoming Insurance Adjuster License?
- July 26, 2022
- Posted by: April Hilbert
- Category: Adjuster Licensing Auto and Property Damage Liability career planning Claims Management Insurance Adjuster Uncategorized
Once you have your insurance adjuster license, you might ask yourself what you need to do to keep it active. You will need to complete some additional steps every couple of years to maintain your license, including completing Continuing Education Courses.
To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. It’s important to be aware and to think ahead so you don’t find yourself stuck with fines or penalties. Here are 3 steps to maintaining an active adjuster license in Wyoming:
1. Review the State Requirements
In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. All the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license. You can access your CE status and transcript HERE.
Resident Adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two-years, 3 hours must be dedicated to Ethics.
Compliance Renewal Date
Wyoming Adjuster licenses expire every two years. The expiration will be on the last day of your birth month, biennially, based on the anniversary of your original license year. This means that if you were licensed in an even-numbered year, your license will expire on the last day of your birth month in the next even-numbered year. From there, licenses renew on the last day of your birth month every other year.
* Wyoming does not allow excess hours to be carried over to the next reporting period. * You may not repeat a course within the same compliance period.
2. Register for and Complete Courses
Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.
AE21 makes it simple to register for and complete all your CE requirements. CE registration is done through our state-of-the-art eLearning system. You can log-in or register your account HERE.
By entering Wyoming as your licensing state during registration, the system will present you with a customized dashboard that will contain the Wyoming course catalogs, as well as important links for Wyoming adjusters. Once logged in, you will be able to add courses from the catalog to your shopping cart and proceed with online checkout and enrollment. Make sure that the adjuster license number listed in your eLearning system profile is correct and that the name on your profile reflects your name as stated on your adjuster’s license.
Pursuant to state rules, all online CE courses do contain a final exam. But don’t worry! Our “reinforced learning” format will ensure that you are completely prepared and you will have unlimited attempts to achieve a passing score.
Important! Wyoming requires that course exams be proctored by a disinterested third party. You and the proctor will be required to complete an electronic affidavit immediately following completion of the exam to attest that you completed the exam without assistance or outside help of any kind, including study material.
Your exam proctor must:
* NOT be a relative
* NOT be your immediate supervisor
* NOT be your employee
* NOT be concerned, with respect to possible gain or loss, in the result of your final exam.
You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported. Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. AE21 will report the course completions to the Wyoming Department of Insurance. We will take care of all the reporting for you. We report CE credits within 1-3 business days following the completion of a course.
3. File a Renewal Application
Once all CE requirements have been met, adjusters may file online renewals beginning 90 days prior to license expiration. All renewals are required to be processed online through SIRCON.
There is a $100 fee to renew your Wyoming adjuster license.
To contact the Wyoming Office of the Insurance Commissioner:
106 East 6th Ave
Cheyenne, WY 82002
307-777-7401; 307-777-7319 (licensing)