How Texas Insurance Adjusters Keep their License Active
Once you have your insurance adjuster license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active.
Resident Texas adjusters are required to be compliant with continuing education (CE) to renew their license. To be CE compliant requires more than just taking courses. It’s important to be aware and to think ahead so you don’t find yourself stuck with fines or penalties.
In order to remain CE compliant and renew their license, Insurance Adjusters in the state of Texas must complete 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years. 3 hours must be Ethics and 12 hours must be classroom equivalent. Online courses do count as classroom equivalents.
Who is exempt from taking CE courses in Texas?
- Emergency (catastrophe) license holders.
- Trainee License Holders
- Non-Residents – who comply with CE requirements of the resident state.
- Some adjusters holding a license over 20 years may request an exemption. If you’ve been licensed in Texas for 20 years or more, or you had an illness, medical disability or other extenuating circumstances that prevented you from completing required training, you may qualify for a continuing education exemption. Use the Application for CE Extension/Exemption to see if you qualify. To apply, go to Sircon and click on “Request CE Exemption.”
When must CE requirements be met?
Licenses must be renewed every two years, on the last day of the licensee’s birthday month. To ensure there is no delay in renewing your license, Texas recommends completing your CE hours at least 30 days before your license expires. The “begin date” to the “review date” on your online transcript marks the start and end of your review period. You must complete continuing education during this period to apply. The review date is one day before your license expires. You’ll miss your continuing education deadline if you wait until your license expiration date.
What exactly are the Texas CE requirements?
- 24 hours every two years.
- 3 of those hours must be dedicated to the subject of Ethics/Consumer Protection. (**Important Update! As a part of HB4030, the Texas legislature has increased the ethics requirement from 2 hours to 3 hours. All adjusters whose license expires on or after September 30, 2022 must now comply with the new 3 hour ethics requirement. This change doesn’t affect the total number of hours required during the two-year licensing.)
- At least 12 hours must be certified as “Classroom” or “Classroom Equivalent”. Most online classes are considered classroom equivalent, but always check the instruction method before you sign up.
- Texas does not allow excess hours to be carried over to the next reporting period.
- To check exactly how many CE hours, you need to go to TDI-Agents and Adjusters. Click your license type and select “Continuing education credits.” Some licenses require specific topics.
How do I know my status?
Because many factors may affect your continuing education requirement (e.g. licenses held, number of years licensed, etc.), we encourage you to periodically check your account to determine your individual continuing education compliance requirements and status.
- To check how many credits you need: Visit the agent and adjuster licensing page, click on the type of license you have, and select “Continuing education credits.”
- To check how many credits you have: Visit the Sircon website to view your transcript, look up approved courses, and check your licensing renewal status.
Things to check on your status:
- Check for late hours. Though your hours requirement may have been met, late completion of your continuing education requirement will result in penalties.
- Check prior evaluation periods. Always check previous compliance periods to make sure you are not delinquent for a prior period or have outstanding fines.
- Check your transcript. You cannot take the same course within a two-year period and receive credit. This is noted on your transcript as a duplicate course. You will need to take a different course to meet your CE requirement.
Where can I take my CE courses?
Sign up for your Continuing Education courses at AE21. Remaining knowledgeable in an ever-changing insurance market can be a challenge, but at AE21, we make it simple. Check out our Texas CE course page here. We look forward to working with you.
How do I renew my license?
Renew your license through TDI License Renewal.