4 Things to Do to Keep Your Alabama Insurance Adjuster License Active
- March 29, 2022
- Posted by: April Hilbert
- Category: Adjuster Licensing Claims Adjuster Claims Management Uncategorized
Once you have your insurance adjuster license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active.
To renew an adjuster license, Alabama adjusters must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years, 3 of those hours must be dedicated to the subject of Ethics.
Non-resident adjusters who have met CE compliance requirements in their resident state or designated home state’s CE requirement are exempt here as long as their home state or designated home state of licensure is reciprocal with Alabama.
To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. It’s important to be aware and to think ahead so you don’t find yourself stuck with fines or penalties. Below are a few things you’ll want to do to remain CE compliant and to keep your license active.
1 – Confirm you know your renewal period.
Adjuster licenses are renewed every two years. Your renewal period is determined by the date you were licensed and your birth month. Your continuing education hours are due the last day of your birth month, after you have held the license for a minimum of 24 months. Simply put, every other year during your birth month, you need to renew your license. So you ideally want all your CE courses completed before then.
Alabama Adjusters are allowed to renew their license online 90 days prior to their birth month until the last day of their birth month, with a renewal fee of $80. If you do not renew your license by the last day of the birth month, they give the license a 30 day grace period with a $40.00 late fee plus the $80.00 renewal fee. If you do not renew your license by the last day of your birth month or your 30 day grace period, the license will then expire and have a 365 day reinstatement period from the last day of your birth month with a $160.00 fee.
2 – Check your CE requirements and status.
CE requirements do change. Occasionally, the laws will change and your CE requirements will get modified as a result. You should regularly review your CE status. Your total hours have specific allocation requirements that must be met. Be sure to take all the right categories of CE courses.
Because many factors may affect your continuing education requirement, we encourage you to check periodically to determine your individual continuing education compliance requirements and status
You can check your current CE compliance status and view your entire transcript history by visiting HERE.
This transcript is the ultimate authority regarding courses that you have taken, whether with AE21 or any other provider. You should return and check your license/CE status often!
Check prior evaluation periods. Always check previous compliance periods to make sure you are not delinquent for a prior period. Check for any outstanding fines.
Check your transcript. You cannot take the same course with the same provider within a two-year period and receive credit. This is noted on your transcript as a duplicate course. You will need to take a different course to meet your CE requirement.
It is important to know that if no CE is shown in the CE transcript for the individual seeking to get renewed, the online renewal application will be rejected and the adjuster will have to resubmit a new renewal application with appropriate fees once CE is showing in their transcript. So you will want to check that before applying for your renewal.
3 – Sign up for your Continuing Education courses at AE21
Remaining knowledgeable in an ever-changing insurance market can be a challenge, but at AE21, we make it simple. Check out our Alabama CE course page here. CE registration is done through our state-of-the-art eLearning system. You can log-in or register your account HERE.
By entering Alabama as your licensing state during registration, the system will present you with a customized dashboard that will contain the Alabama course catalogs and important links for Alabama adjusters. Once logged in, you will be able to add courses from the catalog to your shopping cart and proceed with online checkout and enrollment.
Pursuant to state rules, all online CE courses do contain a final exam. But don’t worry! Our “reinforced learning” format will ensure that you are completely prepared and you will have unlimited attempts to achieve a passing score.
Important! Alabama requires that course exams be proctored by a disinterested third party. You and the proctor will be required to complete an electronic affidavit immediately following completion of the exam to attest that you completed the exam without assistance or outside help of any kind, including study material.
AE21 takes care of all reporting for you. We report CE credits within 1-3 business days following the completion of a course and submission of your monitor affidavit. We look forward to working with you.
4 – Renew Your License
Once you have completed all your CE courses, then it is time to apply for your license renewal. You can renew your license by going HERE:
You can contact the Alabama Department of Insurance here:
P O Box 303351
Montgomery, AL 36130-3351