How do I Renew My Kentucky Insurance Adjuster License?
- June 14, 2022
- Posted by: April Hilbert
- Category: Adjuster Licensing Continuing Education Insurance Adjuster licensing
Once you have your insurance adjuster license, you might ask yourself what you need to do to keep it active. You will need to complete some additional steps every couple of years to maintain your license. Kentucky resident adjusters must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years. Three hours must be in Ethics.
To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. It’s important to be aware and to think ahead so you don’t find yourself stuck with fines, penalties or an expired license. Here are 3 steps to maintaining an active adjuster license in Kentucky:
1. Review the State Requirements
In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. All the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license. You can access your CE status and transcript HERE.
Resident adjusters will be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two-year license term. Adjusters must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement.
Compliance Renewal Date
Adjuster licenses must renew by the last day of your birth month with your birth year determining the renewal year.
- If your birth year ends in an even-numbered year, then you renew your license in even-numbered years.
- If your birth year ends in an odd number, then you renew your license in odd-numbered years
*Up to 12 excess credit hours may carry over to the next compliance period. Excess Ethics hours will carry over as general hours.
*You may not repeat a course within the same compliance period.
2. Register for and Complete Courses
Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.
AE21 makes it simple to register for and complete all your CE requirements. CE registration is done through our state-of-the-art eLearning system. You can log-in or register your account HERE.
By entering Kentucky as your licensing state during registration, the system will present you with a customized dashboard that will contain the Kentucky course catalogs, as well as important links for Kentucky adjusters. Once logged in, you will be able to add courses from the catalog to your shopping cart and proceed with online checkout and enrollment.
Make sure that the adjuster license number listed in your eLearning system profile is correct and that the name on your profile reflects your name as stated on your adjuster’s license.
Pursuant to state rules, all online CE courses contain a final exam. But don’t worry! Our “reinforced learning” format will ensure that you are completely prepared and you will have unlimited attempts to achieve a passing score.
You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported. Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. AE21 will report the course completions to the Kentucky Department of Insurance. We will take care of all the reporting for you. We report CE credits within 1-3 business days following the completion of a course.
3. File a Renewal Application
Once all CE requirements have been met, adjusters may file online renewals through the Kentucky Department of Insurance website. You must have an eServices account.
Select License Renewal Invoice from the menu. Complete the application. Please note, part of the license renewal application is to answer three background questions, and report any applicable background issues to DOI.
You may print your new license certificate and pocket ID card at any time through your secure eServices account.
The license renewal fee is $50.
Licensees must complete all requirements prior to the last day of their birth month to avoid cancellation. Continuing education completed even one day after the due date is considered late, and the license will be terminated. Best practice is to keep up with your requirements and file on time, but if you find yourself in a situation where your expiration date has passed, you may still be able to renew your license.
To apply for reinstatement of license, current CE must be complete and a license application, license fees, and an Administrative Office of the Court background report is required. There will be a gap in licensure. Reinstatement must be completed within 12 months of the inactive date to be exempted from pre-licensing and examination.
To contact the Kentucky Office of the Insurance Commissioner:
215 W. Main St; PO Box 517
Frankfort, KY 40602